NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links

Volume 46 Number 2 February 1993
Printed by authority of the State of Illinois
Jim Edgar, Governor

21  Grant of Illinois
     John Y. Simon
     Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
23   Galena's Grant
     Molly Benstein
     Geneva Community High School, Geneva
24   Grant's West Coast Years
     Matt Beiermann
     Civic Memorial High School, Bethalto
25   Ulysses S. Grant: Civil War General
     Eugene Rinaldi
     St. Luke School, River Forest
27   Grant in Springfield
     Jeff Klemens
     Southeast High School, Springfield
28   Ulysses S. Grant: Savior and Blunderer
     Dan Kammler
     Carbondale Community High School,
30   Ulysses S. Grant: A Humble Man
     Kara R. Guzzo
     Sonshine Academy Homeschool, Rockford
31   David Davis: The First Thirty Years
     Marcy J. Brant
     Dimmick Community Consolidated School,
33   David Davis: The Man and Political Ally
     Danielle Daniels
     Waterloo High School, Waterloo
34   Judge David Davis and the Eighth Circuit Court
     Amy Kalbacken
     Washington School, Peoria
35   Judge David Davis, Teacher and Friend of Lincoln
     Meredith Hayes
     Coultrap Middle School, Geneva
37   Lyman Trumbull
     Lesley Piersall
     New Hebron Christian School, Robinson
38   Lyman Trumbull in the Pullman Strike:
   Did He Change His Position?
     Emily Alitto
     University of Chicago Laboratory Schools,
39   Lyman Trumbull: Illinois' Extraordinary Legislator
     Andrew S. Johnson
     Belleville Township High School West, Belleville

On the cover: Pictured from top left are David Davis, Ulysses S. Grant, and Lyman Trumbull, three of Illinois' most famous politicians.


  Susan Mogerman

  Julie Cellini
  Pamela A. Daniels
  Samuel Lilly
  Frank J. Mason
  Sally B. Schanbacher
  Carol Stein


Educational Services Section
  Carl Oblinger, Head, Research and
  Keith A, Sculle, Educational Services    Coordinator

Illinois History
  Editor: Keith A. Sculle
  Design and Layout: Cynthia A. Fuener


Executive Director
  E. Duane Elbert

Officers for 1992-93
  John R. Power, President
  Robert J. Klaus, President-Elect
  William D. Winberg, Treasurer

Directors: Roland Bauer, Mary Dean, Linda L. Hay, William A. Hensley, James T. Hickey, Thomas E. Leiter, Robert McColley, Patricia Mooney-Melvin, Barbara Posadas, Richard Pyatt, Marvin Strunk, Terence A. Tanner, F. John Taylor, Wendy Hamand Venet, Mark Wyman.

Advisory Board Members: Leah Joy Axelrod, Tara Blazer, Janet Cornelius, James E. Davis, Carl J. Ekberg, Charlene Gill, James Grossman, John E. Hallwas, John Hoffmann, Carolyn I. Johnson, John Lamb, Floyd W. Marshall, Michael J. McNerney, Douglas K. Meyer, Catherine Welch O'Connor, Jo Ann Rayfield, Marc Savard, Marc S. Schulman, Len R. Small, Mark W. Sorensen, Richard Worthen.

Illinois History (ISSN 0019-2058) is published four times during the school year, December, February, March and May, by the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency in cooperation with the Illinois State Historical Society. Printed by authority of the State of Illinois (921859.1M2-93). Second-class postage paid at Springfield, Illinois. Copyright, Illinois State Historical Society, 1993. Subscription rates: One copy is sent tree on request to all schools in Illinois. Additional school-use subscriptions are $1 per volume (four issues). All other subscriptions are $4 per volume. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Illinois History, Old State Capitol, Springfield, Illinois, 62701.

All photos unless otherwise credited are courtesy Illinois State Historical Library, Mary Michals, Iconographer.

|Search| |Back to Periodicals Available| |Table of Contents| |Back to Illinois History A Magazine for Young People 1993|
Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library