NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links


The Illinois Municipal League sponsored a Federal-aid Highway Conference in Chicago, on Friday, January 27th. The purpose of the meeting was an informal discussion of legislation for Federal-aid, not only to the interstate highway system, but for the Federal-aid primary and secondary streets and road program. A number of State officials, headed by Governor William G. Stratton and Ralph Bartlesmeyer, Chief Highway Engineer of the State of Illinois, urged Congress to enact an adequate program for Federal aid to our highway system.

Other speakers on the program included Mayor Leo Struif, Alton, President of the Illinois Municipal League, Presiding Officer; Mayor Paul Johnson, Moline, Chairman; R. B. Soderstrom, President, Illinois Federation of Labor, Springfield; James Kelly, Assistant County Superintendent of Highways, Chicago; Lewis Lush, Springfield, County Superintendent of Highways, Sangamon County; Member, Local Roads Committee, American Road Builders' Association; Joseph Rittenhouse, Township Supervisor, Bement; George DeMent, Commissioner of Public Works, Chicago; John Kearns, City Engineer, Champaign, and Deane Seeger, American Municipal Association, Washington, D.C. Representatives of thirty-seven municipalities were present. A complete registration list follows:


State Representatives—John Lewis, Jr., Marshall; C. R. (Bob) Beckmeyer, Nashville; Henry Lenard, Chicago; J. Lisle Laufer, Hampshire; G. K. Willett, Dixon; Louis Beckman, Kankakee; William Harris, Pontiac.

State Senators — Dan Dougherty, Chicago; William J. Lynch, Chicago; Robert McClory, Waukegan.

Illinois Township Officials—Joseph Rittenhouse, Bement; B. F. Johnson, Decatur; William J. Vieregge, Gilman; Merle K. Anderson, Durand; Harry Talley, Bloomington; Meade Baltz, Joliet; Lee Cornwell, Harvard.

State Department of Public Works and Buildings—E. A. Rosenstone, Director, Springfield; Troy Kost, Assistant Director, Springfield; Ralph Bartelsmeyer. Chief Highway Engineer, Springfield; William Dutelle, Chief Engineer, Local Roads and Streets, Springfield; J. P. Tuthill, District Engineer, Chicago.

Illinois State Federation of Labor— R. G. Soderstrom, President, Springfield.

Cook County Board of Commissioners—William Erickson, Chicago.

Chicago Regional Planning Association—Howard R. Olson, Manager, Chicago.

Illinois State Division of Traffic Safety—W. Guthrie Piersell, Research Analyst, Springfield.

Illinois State Chamber of Commerce —Vernon Wahlberg, Legislative Manager, Chicago.

Illinois Telephone Association—J. G. Hardy, Secretary, Springfield.

Portland Cement Association — W. W. Wallace, Engineer, Chicago; Martin Lewis, Jr., Springfield; C. A. Wall, Chicago; A. Davis, Chicago.

Illinois Bell Telephone Company— Robert H. Myers, Assistant Vice President, Chicago.

National Safety Council—Ned Dearborn, President, Chicago.

Chicago Motor Club—Matthew C. Sielski, Head, Research Division, Chicago.

Automobile Manufacturers Association—John J. Cummings, Director of Transportation Research, Detroit, Michigan.

Central Motor Freight Association, Inc.—Harry Olson, Chief of Tariff Bureau, Chicago.

Diamond T Motor Truck Company— Z. C. R. Hansen, Executive Vice President, Chicago.

National Highway Users Conference —Cecil Fausch, Chicago.

Illinois Highway Users Conference —James Gilruth, Chicago.

International Harvester Company— R. E. Bryan, Public Relations, Chicago; L. W. Pierson, Chicago.

Illinois State Grange—Frank Neffenegger, Marengo; Herbert R. Orr, Harvard.

Forest Preserve District — Ray Blackwell, President, Wheaton.

Illinois County Superintendents of Highways—Lewis Lush, Springfield; David H. Sharkey, Toulon; O. B. Dold, Wheaton; Harold Absher, Nashville; R. E. Erikson, Oregon; M. E. Amstutz, Waukegan; Alan Buck, Decatur; James Kelly, Assistant, Chicago.

American Municipal Association — Deane Seeger, Washington, D.G.; John Kerstetter, Chicago.


Alton—Mayor Leo Struif; Guy Fairfield, Engineer.
Aurora—Mayor Paul Egan.
Bellwood—Richard Zuelke, Village President.
Belvidere—Mayor Lester Cunningham.
Bloomington—Mayor Lloyd Welsh.
Broadview—Albert Jantorni, Village Attorney.
Canton—Mayor Paul Woods.
Centralia—Mayor H. B. Blanchard.
Champaign—John Kearns, City Engineer.
Chicago—George DeMent, Commissioner of Public Works; Robert W. Wallace, Consulting Engineer.
Decatur—Homer L. Chastain, Commissioner; Alex Van Praag, Jr., Consulting Engineer.
Downers Grove—C. L. Baylor, Village Attorney.

(Continued on page 35)


(Continued from page 30)

East St. Louis — David Johnston, City Engineer; Mayor Alvin Fields.
Evanston—Mayor John R. Kimbark; Joseph Rose, Commissioner of Public Works; James Moring, Engineer.
Forest Park — Mayor William H. Meyer.
Galesburg—Mayor Leo Morrison.
Geneva—Victor G. Johnson, Clerk.
Glen Ellyn—J. Edgar Kelly, Village Attorney.
Harvey—Mayor A. E. Turngren.
Joliet—George L. Comerford, Comptroller.
La Salle—Mayor B. D. Bruno; A. A. Gunia, Alderman.
Lombard — George P. Schroedter, Village President; Ernest W. Hammerschmidt, Trustee.
Mattoon — H. B. Ewing, Mayor; James Warren, Clerk; Leo Scofield, Commissioner.
Moline—Mayor Paul Johnson; Allan Hallberg, Engineer.
Monmouth—Mayor Donovan Vance.
Morton Grove—Mayor Max Finke; Ole Peterson, Trustee.
Mount Prospect—Theodore A. Lams, Village President.
Naperville—Mayor C. H. Wellner; William Friedrich, Attorney.
Oak Park—J. Russell Christianson, Village President.
River Grove—Mayor Harry Smith; George Schlesser, Treasurer.
Riverside—G. L. Opper, Manager.
Rockford — Mayor Milton Lundstrom; Herman Danforth, Engineer.
Skokie—George D. Wilson, Village President; Henry Wells, Attorney.
Springfield—Mayor Nelson O. Howarth; Owen J. Darling, Commissioner.
Streator—Mayor Ray Eutsey; Roy Rathbun, Clerk.
Westchester—Arthur Johnson, Manager.
Wheaton—C. O. Freedhmd, Clerk.


Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library