NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links

Election Names

GOP and Democratic state committee members and chairmen

The state central committees of both major political parties elected state chairmen at meetings in Springfield in April. As expected, Don Adams of Springfield was reelected April 15 to head the state Republican party. Reelected GOP state central committeeman from the 20th Congressional District in the March primary, he has been state chairman since 1973. Adams is also national chairman of the organization of Republican State Chairmen.

In what some see as the further erosion of the power of the Chicago Democratic machine, the Democratic State Central Committee elected its first downstate chairman in nearly 50 years. State Sen. Vince Demuzio (D-49, Carlinville), who is also state central committeeman from the 20th District, was chosen April 17 to head the Illinois Democratic party. Demuzio, with the support of Senate President Philip J. Rock (D-8, Oak Park), who is also central committeeman from the 7th District, defeated Chicago Treasurer Cecil Partee (central committeeman from the 1st District). Partee had the backing of both Mayor Harold Washington and Chicago Aid. Edward Vrdolyak. The latter had won reelection as Cook County Democratic party chairman just prior to the state meering of Democrats. Demuzio took over as head of the state Democratic party from state Rep. Calvin R. Sutker (D-56, Skokie), who had lost reelection as central committeeman from the 9th Congressional District though he did win the party nomination as state representative. Rock was Sutker's predecessor as state chairman.

State central committeemen for both parties were elected in the March 18 party primaries. Elected by congressional district, member serve four-year terms on the state central committees. The Democrats have twice as many members as the Republicans since they elect one committeeman and one committeewoman from each district. The Republican party limits itself to one committeeman — in the generic sense — elected per district. In the March primary Republicans elected two women to serve on the central committee: Lois Stevenson of Chicago and Mary Jo Arndt of Lombard. The GOP allows for the appointment of state central committeewomen by the elected committeemen, but those appointed serve as nonvoting members of the state central committee.

Here are the names and addresses of the Republican Mean and Democratic state central committee members, elected by district, on March 18:

1st District

Republican: William O. Stewart, 219 E. 4th St., Chicago 60653.

Democrats: Constance A. Howard, 432 E. 88th St., Chicago 60619; Cecil A. Partee, 6032 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago 60637.

2nd District

Republican: Lois Stevenson, 10447 Avenue E, Chicago 60617.

Democrats: Cora L. McGruder, 161 E. 119th St., Chicago 60628; Niles Sherman, 9420 S. Justine St., Chicago 60620.

3rd District

Republican: Frank M. Ozinga, 9626 S. Homan, Evergreen Park 60642.

Democrats: Eleanor M. Macellaio, 9157 S. Winchester Ave., Chicago 60620; Joseph P. Griffin, 9123 S. Mozart St., Evergreen Park 60642.

4th District

Republican: Arthur T. Lennon, 1405 Mayfield Ave., Joliet 60435.

Democrats: Mary Agnes Maloney, 4285 Mound Rd., Joliet 60436; Daniel L. Kennedy, 3807 Rollingwood Court, Joliet 60435.

5th District

Republican: Allan C. Carr, 2531 S. 60th Court, Cicero 60650.

Democrats: Carol Diver, 632 W. 46th PL, Chicago 60609; Walter S. Kozubowski, 5300 S. Rockwell St., Chicago 60632.

6th District

Republican: Mary Jo Arndt, 35 S. Stewart, Lombard 60148.

Democrats: Jane N. Spirgel, 334 River Glen Ave., Elmhurst 60126; Bruce W. Lester, 540 S. Anita St., Des Plaines 60016.

7th District

Republican: Robert J.R. Follett, 300 S. Euclid Ave., Oak Park 60302.

Democrats: Iola McGowan, 5839 W. Midway Park, Chicago 60644; Philip J. Rock, 819 N. Oak Park, Oak Park 60302.

8th District

Republican: James A. Battista, 1624 N. New England Ave., Chicago 60635.

Democrats: Karen Rozanski Harte, 2816 N. Moody Ave., Chicago 60634; Michael (Jack) Hagopian, 2171 N. Parkside Ave., Chicago 60639.

9th District

Republican: J. Robert Barr, 1501 Oak Ave., Evanston 60201.

Democrats: Adrienne J. Goodman, 540 W. Roscoe, Apt. 378, Chicago 60657; Jeffrey Paul Smith, 2021 W. Jarvis Ave., Chicago 60645.

10th District

Republican: David E. Brown, 1209 Greenwood Ave., Wilmette 60091.

Democrats: Eugenia S. Chapman, 16 S. Princeton Court, Arlington Heights 60005; Bill Morris, 421 North Ave., Waukegan 60085.

11th District

Republican: William K. Dammeier, 7700 W. Strong St., Norridge 60656.

Democrats: Margaret Laurino, 4710 Keystone Ave., Chicago 60630; Roman C. Pucinski, 6301 N. Louise Ave., Chicago 60646.

12th District

Republican: Albert M. Jourdan, 4112 N. Riverdale Dr., McHenry 60050.

Democrats: Carole Miller, 719 Saint Johns Rd., Woodstock 60098; James P. Sheehan, 1162 W. Illinois, Palatine 60067.

13th District

Republican: Ronald C. Smith, 2 5-121 Ivy Lane, Lombard 60148.

Democrats: Evelyn E. Craig, 7225 W. 110th Place, Worth 60482; Morgan M. Finley, 1247 Laurie Lane, Burr Ridge 60521.

14th District

Republican: Richard J. Larson, 146 LeGrande Blvd., Aurora 60506.

Democrats: Peg McDonnell Breslin, 1216 W. Lafayette St., Ottawa 61350; Patrick D. Welch, 1412 Buffalo, Peru 61354.

15th District

Republican: Thomas W. Ewing, 310 W. Lincoln St., Pontiac 61764.

Democrats: Luellen W. Laurenti, 1407 Hanson Dr., Normal 61761; John L. Baldini, 1105 N. Prairie St., Bloomington 61701.

16th District

Republican: Tom Hawes, 5417 Reimer, Rosco 61073.

Democrats: Vivian Veach Hickey, 1234 National Ave., Rockford 61103; Carl R. "Skip" Schwerdtfeger, 1126 Elizabeth-Scales MD. Rd., Elizabeth 61028.

17th District

Republican: Clarence E. Neff, 104 E. South St., Stronghurst 61480.

Democrats: Vivian Peck, 2356 Carol Dr., Galesburg 61401; Stewart R. Winstein, 3535 24th St., Rock Island 61201.

18th District

Republican: John Dailey, 104 Wildflower, Dunlap 61525.

Democrats: Shirley A. McCombs, R. 2, Box 45Z, Petersburg 62675; Jim Dawson, 525 State, Pekin 61554.

19th District

Republican: Robert S. Redfern, R. 5, Fairfield 62837.

Democrats: Sharon Walker, 117 E. 11th, Georgetown 61846; Joe T. Connelly, 736 Clifton, Charleston 61920.

20th District

Republican: Don W. Adams, 2251 W. Washington, Springfield 62702.

Democrats: Penny L. Severns, 1942 W. Main, Decatur 62522; Vince Demuzio, No. 4 Valley Lane, Carlinville 62626.

21st District

Republican: Edward Ragsdale, 4429 Friarwood, Alton 62002.

Democrats: Sharon S. Perjak, 3228 Carlson, Granite City 62040; Bruce N. Cook, 28 Oak Knoll, Belleville 62223.

22nd District

Republican: John T. Anderson, 110 Boswell Rd., Marion 62959.

Democrats: Frances Hope Dyhrkopp, R. 1, Shawneetown 62984; Leslie McCollum, 111 S. 8th St., Herrin 62948.

June 1986/Illinois Issues/39

|Home| |Search| |Back to Periodicals Available| |Table of Contents| |Back to Illinois Issues 1986|
Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library