NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links


Shifts at the top

Gov. Jim Edgar filled two vacant cabinet posts in February. He named Michael Schwartz director of the Department of Central Management Services and Richard G. Austin the Illinois Adjutant General for the Department of Military Affairs.

Michael Schwartz

Richard G. Austin

Schwartz (above) of Springfield has been the acting director of CMS since Edgar promoted former CMS director Stephen Schnorf his director of policy. Schwartz supervised many of the agency's bureaus since joining the department in 1989. He has held executive positions in the Department of Revenue, the Department of Professional Regulation and the governor's office.

Austin (below), also of Springfield, served in the U.S. Marine Corps, Marine Airwing, from 1965 to 1969 and is an officer in the Illinois Army National Guard. He served as administrator of the U.S. General Services Administration under President George Bush and was recently assistant secretary of the Illinois Department of Transportation.

Other executive appointments

•Mark Randal joins Treasurer Judy Baar Topinka's staff as one of two directors of communication. Prior to joining the treasurer's staff, Randal was Statehouse bureau chief for Springfield's WICS-TV and a Saturday morning anchor for News-Channel 20. He shares duties with Jim Howard.

Topinka also named other top staff:

•Jack Lanigan, inspector general.
•Jack Seymour, director of banking.
•Tim Leonetti, director of legislative liaison.
•Gary Marschke, director of programs administration.
•Bruce Turnmire, assistant deputy treasurer.

Lawyer for U.S. trade representative to lead state export panels

Gary Edson, former chief of staff and general counsel to the U.S. trade representative, is the new chairman of the Illinois Coordinating Committee for Exports and the Illinois Export Promotion Coordinating Council. Both trade panels promote the export of Illinois goods and services. While serving in the federal post, Edson, a native of Chicago, oversaw the drafting of NAFTA. He succeeds Michael H. Moskow, president of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, as chair of the Illinois Coordinating Committee for Exports.

Griggsville teen chosen to visit Austria

Brad Kuhn, 16, a student at the Illinois School for the Visually Impaired in Jacksonville, wrote an essay good enough to take him to Europe next summer.

Gov. Edgar selected the Griggsville teen to represent Illinois in Vienna, Austria, for two weeks in July. One child with a disability from each state will take the all-expenses-paid trip offered by the city of Vienna to honor World War II soldiers.

Governor appoints task ferce to study horse racing industry

The 22-member panel will be chaired by James M. Kane, partner in the law firm Schiff Hardin & Waite. Other members of the task force are:

•Charles "Stormy" Bidwill Jr., president and owner of Sportsman's Park Racecourse.
•Tom Carey, owner of Hawthorne Racecourse.
•Allen Crocker, member of the Southern Illinois Horsemen's Benevolent Protective Association.
•Dick Duchossois, chief executive officer and owner of Arlington International Racecourse.
•Ed Duffy, chief operating officer of the National Jockey Club.
•Steve Holland, member of the Chicago division of the Horsemen's Benevolent Protective Association and thoroughbred owner.
•Del Insko, president of the Illinois Harness Horsemen's Association.
•Billy Johnston, owner of Sportsman's Park, Balmoral Park and Maywood Park racetracks.
Phil Langley, director of racing for Chicago-area standardbred tracks.
•Leonard Lavin, thoroughbred owner.
•Scott Mordell, vice president of finance and administration for Arlington International Racecourse.
•Horst Peterson, standardbred owner.
•Jim Reynolds, superintendent of fairs and promotions for the Illinois Department of Agriculture.
•Gary Starkman, chairman of the Illinois Racing Board.
•Dr. Ken Walker, president of the Illinois Standardbred Owners and Breeders Association.
•Patricia Whitworth, executive secretary of the Illinois Thoroughbred Breeders and Owners Association.
•Brian Zander, vice president and general manager of Fairmount Park.
•Sen. Robert Madigan, Republican from Lincoln.
•Sen. John Cullerton, Democrat from Chicago.
•Rep. Jack Kubik, Republican from Riverside.
•Rep. Art Turner, Democrat from Chicago.

30/March 1995/Illinois Issues


New lobbyist for private children's advocate organization

Shaun P. Lane, a former policy analyst from the Child Care Association of Illinois, has been named vice president of public policy for Children's Home and Aid Society of Illinois.

Lane will lobby legislators on behalf of Illinois children.

Wendy Langren and Beverley Scobell
Shaun P. Lane

Gov. Edgar makes new round of appointments
to boards and commissions

State Board of Education
•William Hill of Charleston, coordinator of the distance learning project for Consolidated Communications in Mattoon.

Board of Higher Education
•Rey Brune of Moline, retired director of press relations for Deere and Co.
•Robert English of Aurora, president of PMA Financial Network.
•Ramon Martinez Jr. of Evanston, senior counsel for labor and employment for WMX Techhnologies.
•Lucy Sloan of Herrin, a self-employed investment manager.

Illinois Development Finance Authority
•Harry Seigle of East Dundee, president of Seigle's Home and Building Centers in Elgin.

Court of Claims
•Norma Jann of Chicago.

Prisoner Review Board
•Herbert Brown of Rockford.
•Jim Donahue of Pekin.

Illinois Human Rights Commission
•Rose Jennings of Chicago.

Children and Family Services Advisory Council
• Michelle Arnold of Oak Park.
• Rev. James Gordon of Mt. Vernon.
• Clara Kirk of Chicago.
• Neil Matlins of Springfield.
• Carolyn Thompson of Crete.

Central Midwest Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission
•Thomas Ortciger of Flossmoor.

March 1995/Illinois Issues/31

|Home| |Search| |Back to Periodicals Available| |Table of Contents||Back to Illinois Issues 1995|
Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library