NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links


Fryzel heads Department of Financial Institutions

Michael E. Fryzel was named director of the state Department of Financial Institutions January 11 by Gov. James R. Thompson. In making the appointment the governor said, "Mike Fryzel has been with the Department during much of my administration and has done a fine job. I'm happy to be able to name him to this important post. He has been active in Polish-American affairs in Illinois and I am confident he will be an outstanding director."

Fryzel had been administrator of the department's unclaimed property division since September of 1979, and before that supervisor of the currency exchange division. In addition, Fryzel had been a staff member of the Illinois House and director of administration in the Governor's Office of Human Resources under Gov. Richard B. Ogilvie.

Fryzel succeeds acting director Jack Seymour, who resigned to accept a position as director of legislative affairs for the Illinois Bankers Association. Fryzel's appointment requires Senate confirmation, and his term runs through January 17, 1983.

Castle resigns from DCCA

John Castle, director of the Department of Commerce and Community Affairs (DCCA), resigned effective February 15, saying he stayed longer in state government than he had originally intended. Castle, 48, had served as director since DCCA was created in 1979. During this time there was controversy over Castle's effectiveness in managing the giant agency. Peter Fox, 30, former DCCA deputy director, was Gov. James R. Thompson's choice as Castle's successor.

Thompson, in his State of the State message in January, cited the "extraordinary strides" made under Castle's direction in providing government services to both business and labor which, said the governor, resulted in nearly 7,000 new jobs for the state's ailing economy. But DCCA is also under investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor regarding allegations of favoritism in its management of federal Comprehensive Employment and Training Act (CETA) programs. Castle's resignation was in no way connected with the investigation a DCCA spokesman said.

According to an agency spokesman, the complaints against DCCA came from originators of unfunded programs and were unwarranted though almost to be expected, given the strained funding situation after federal cutbacks in October. DCCA's handling of reductions in the number of Illinois manpower regions and its relationship with its balance of state advisory council were also subjects of recent criticism.

The Judiciary

The Supreme Court appointed Jeffrey W. O'Connor, Cambridge, as circuit judge of the 14th Judicial Circuit, effective January 1, 1982. Formerly Henry County state's attorney, O'Connor fills a vacancy created by the death of Robert Horberg.

The Supreme Court reassigned the following circuit judges effective in December: William V. Hopf, Wheaton, of the 18th Judicial Circuit, to the 2nd Judicial Circuit; William R. Nash, Rockford, of the 17th Judicial Circuit, to the Appellate Court for the 2nd Judicial District; Lloyd A. Van Deusen, Waukegan, retired judge of the 19th Judicial Circuit, to the Appellate Court for the 3rd Judicial District; Albert G. Webber III, Decatur, retired judge of the 6th Judicial Circuit, to the Appellate Court for the 4th Judicial District. All appointments are effective until December 1982 or further order of the court.

J. David Bone, Jacksonville, was named by the circuit judges as an associate judge in the 7th Judicial Circuit, effective in December. Bone is a lawyer in private practice.

The following judges have been elected chief judge in their circuits, effective in December: Edward B. Dittmeyer, Quincy, 8th Judicial Circuit, succeeding Fred Reither; Max B. Stewart, Hamilton, 9th Judicial Circuit, succeeding U.S. Collins; Marvin D. Dunn, Batavia, 16th Judicial Circuit, succeeding Paul Schnake; Harry G. Comerford, Chicago, Circuit Court of Cook County. This is Comerford's second term as chief judge.

George W. Unverzgat, Wheaton, was named chairman of the 2nd District Appellate Court Executive Committee by the appellate court judges effective in December.

The following judges have resigned from office: Edward E. Haugens, Toluca, of the 10th Judicial Circuit, effective in December; he had been a judicial officer for 23 years.

John J. O'Toole, Chicago, of the Circuit Court of Cook County, effective January 1, 1982; he had been a judicial officer since October 1, 1980.

Bill J. Slater, Pana, of the 4th Judicial Circuit, effective December 26, 1981; Slater had been a judicial officer since 1955 and chief judge of the 4th Circuit for many years.

Arthur A. Sullivan Jr., Winnetka, of the Circuit Court of Cook County, effective January 1, 1982; he had been a judicial officer since 1974.

Charles E. Jones, McLeansboro, a judge in the 5th District Appellate Court, was named by the appellate judges as a member of the Illinois Courts Commission, effective in December. Jones had previously been an alternate member of the commission. Albert Scott, Canton, a judge in the 3rd Judicial Circuit, was named an alternate member of the commission.

Industrial Development Authority

Craig J. Duehossois, Flossmoor, Thomas E. Harrington, Jr., Champaign, and Richard Shanahan, Chicago, as members of the Industrial Development Authority, by the governor effective October 28. Duehossois is president of Thrall Car Manufacturing Company in Chicago Heights; Harrington is a real estate broker with Devonshire Realty in Champaign; and Shanahan is an investment banker with USA Equities in Chicago. Sheldon Gray, Chicago, previously an ex officio member of the board, is now a full voting member. Terms expire January 17, 1983; the appointments are nonsalaried and require Senate confirmation.

Other appointments

Sandra Klubeck, Chicago, as director of the Illinois Guardianship and Advocacy Commission, at a commission meeting December 11 in Chicago. Klubeck had been acting director of the commission since the resignation of Sandra G. Nye last August.

Vic Pambianco, Riverton, as legislative liaison for the Department of Financial Institutions, by department director Michael Fryzel effective January 16. Previously Pambianco had worked in the govenor's office as director of the mail control department.

Bob Fletcher, Springfield, as public information officer for the Department of Law Enforcement, by department director James Zagei effective January 1. Fletcher, who had been chief of public affairs for the Department of Commerce and Community Affairs since April of 1980, succeeds Les Pauley, who became public information officer for the Capitol Development Board.

Robert P. Howard, Springfield, was elected to a one-year term as president the Illinois State Historical Society at its annual meeting in Galesburg last October. Howard, who until his retirement in 1970 was Springfield correspondent for the Chicago Tribune, had previously served as a director and as a vice president for the society. □

36/March 1982/Illinois Issues

|Home| |Search| |Back to Periodicals Available| |Table of Contents| |Back to Illinois Issues 1982|
Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library