NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links

The Illinois State Historical Society Officers

The Illinois State Historical Society Officers

President: Marvin W. Ehlers, Deerfield
Vice Presidentt: Mark Sorensen, Decatur
Treasurer: Arthur M. Martin, Chicago
Secretary: Russell Lewis, Chicago


Directors, Terms Expire in 2006

Larry Douglas, Belknap
Stuart Fliege, Springfield
Roger Bridges, Bloomington
Ellsworth Mills, II, Highland Park
Mary "Happy" Dean, Peoria

Directors, Terms Expire in 2007
Michael Bakalis, Darien
Michael Batinski, Carbondale
Elaine Egdorf, Homewood
Shirley Portwood, Godfrey
Theodore Wachholz, Arlington Heights

Directors, Terms Expire in 2008
Alberta Adamson, Wheaton
Lawrence Hanson, River Forest
Patricia Walton, Hanover Park
John Weck, Sycamore
Randall Witter, Springfield

William Furry, Executive Director
Mary Lou Johnsrud, Office Manager

          Advisory Board 2004-2005
Leah Axelrod, Highland Park
David Badillo, Oak Park
David Brady, Springfield
Terri Cameron, Springfield
Don Cavallini, Lexington
Herbert Channick, Highland Park
John Craig, Springfield
James Edstrom, Buffalo Grove
Redd Griffin, Oak Park
Gerald Hulslander, Marseilles
D. Rradford Hunt, Chicago
David Joens, Springfield
Ann Durkin Keating, Chicago
Alfred Klairmont, Highland Park
Jon Musgrave, Marion
Charlotte Renehan, Grayslake
John Power, Jacksonville
William Steinbacher-Kemp, Normal
Timothy Townsend, Springfield
Dennis Williams, Quincy
Robyn Williams, Harrisburg
Warren Winston, Pittsfield

          Living Past Presidents    
Alexander Summers, San Diego, CA
Gunnar Benson, Sterling
Victor Hicken, Macomb
Katie Fiene Birchler, Chester
Samuel Lilly, Downers Grove
David J. Maurer, Charleston
Wilma Lund, Springfield
Patricia Wallace-Christian, Durham, CT
Mark A. Plummer, Normal
John T. Trutter, Northfield
E. Duane Elbert, Forrest
Raymond E. Hauser, St. Charles
Patricia Grimmer, Carbondale
John Power, Jacksonville
Robert J. Klaus, Chicago
Michael J. McNerney, Carbondale
Robert McColley, Urbana
Barbara M. Posadas, DeKalb
Rand Burnette, Jacksonville
David W. Scott, Springfield

A Publication of The Illinois State Historical Society

September-October 2005                                                                               Volume 8 Number 5


4        News

27     The Honor Roll


6        Radical Feminism in 1897
Jame Addams opens window of reform for Danville women's social club

10     Corn hustlers
How Decatur Starchworkers became Chicago Bears

17     The sycamore smokehouse
Old-growth tree has new life and permanent home at Homestead Prairie Park


19     Challenging history
The Changing Face of Public History: The Chicago Historical Society and the Transformation of the American Museum

20     Prairie town snapshot
Movin' on Down the Road: A General History of Pawnee, Illinois


"Polygonal barn and carriage house under summer clouds, LaSalle County, June 1987." Photograph by Willard Clay from Wild and Scenic Illinois, 2004, BrownTrout Publishing, San Francisco.


A century is a remarkable milestone, especially for a corporation. Hundreds of new businesses are established every year, and hundreds close their doors. It takes strong business acumen, discipline, and a more than a little luck to endure, survive, and thrive through the decades. Along the way jobs are created, communities are built, and our history and culture are enriched.

Since 1984, The Illinois State Historical Society has recognized more than 1,100 Illinois businesses and not-for-profits that have survived and prospered for 100 years or more. On Friday, September 30, the Society will again recognize century-old Illinois enterprises at the 21st annual Centennial Awards Banquet, held this year at the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago. Your personal invitation has already been mailed.

We'd love to have you join us at this year's banquet, which promises to be memorable and full of surprises (see page 5 for details). But even if you can't attend, please consider sending a contribution. If your company or organization is a past Centennial Awards winner, consider sponsoring one of this year's Centennial businesses. A $250 contribution pays for a Centennial business's complimentary dinner, commemorative plaque, and membership in the Society for one year. A $1,200 contribution buys a table for eight Centennial businesses. As we are a not-for-profit organization and receive no government funds for our services, the Society looks to its membership and the corporate community to sustain the Centennial Awards program. You can make a difference. Will you?

Send your tax-deductible check today to: Centennial Awards, Illinois State Historical Society, 210 1/2 South Sixth Street, Springfield, Illinois 62701.

William Furry
Executive Director

Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library