NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links

Illinois Heritage

A Publication of The Illinois State Historical Society
March-April 2005                                                                              Volume 8 Number 2

The Illinois State Historical Society Officers

President: David Scott, Springfield
President Pro Tem: Marvin W. Ehlers, Deerfield
Treasurer: Arthur M Martin, Chicago


Directors, Terms Expire in 2004
Norman C. Berger, Chicago
Timothy Draper, Sugar Grove
Mark Sorensen, Decatur
Patricia J. Walton, Hanover Park
John Week, Sycamore

Directors, Terms Expire in 2005
Leah J. Axelrod, Chicago
Herbert Channick, Rockfond
Redd Griffin, Oak Park
Russell Lewis, Chicago John Power, Jacksonville

Directors, Terms Expire in 2006
Larry Douglas, Belknap
Stuart Fliege, Springfieldd
Redd Griffin, Oack Park
Russell Lewsi, Chicago
John Power, Jacksonville


Tom Teague, Executive Director

William Furry, Assistant Director

Sallie Brittin, Membership Secretary

Advisory Board 2003-2004

Michael J. Bakalis, Chicago
Terry Barnhart, Charleston
Michael C. Batinski, Carbondale
Charles Burgess, Bethalto
James Coble, Springfield
Janet Cornelius, Penfield
Mary "Happy" Dean, Peoria
Elaine Egdorf, Homewood
Wolf D. Fuhrig, Jacksonville
D. Bradford Hunt, Chicago
Thomas O. Kay, Wheaton
D. Bradford Hunt, Chicago
Jack Kinton, North Aurora
Lindell Loveless, Gillespie
William Malottke, McLeansboro
Micheal Newton-Matza, Oak Park
Jason Peters, Kinderbrook
Ted Wachholz, Arlington Heights
Joan Willenborgb, Effingham
Warren Winston, Pittsfield
Randall Witter, Springfield
Christopher Young, Jacksonville

Living Past Presidents

Alexander Summers, San Diego, CA
Robert M. Sutton, Urbana
Gunnar Benson, Sterling
Donald F. Tingley, Savoy
Victor Hicken, Macomb
Katie Fiene Birchler, Chester
Samuel Lilly, Downers Grove
David J. Maurer, Charleston
Wilma Lund, Springfield
Patricia Wallace-Christian, Durham, CT
Mark A. Plummer, Normal
John T. Trutter, Northfield
E. Duane Libert, Lerna
Raymond E. Hauser, St. Charles
Patricia Grimmer, Carbondale
John Power, Jacksonville
Robert J. Klaus, Chicago
Michael J. McNerney, Carbondale
Robert McColley, Urbana
Barbara M. Posadas, DeKalb
Rand Burnette, Jacksonville


3          President s letter

5          Letters

6          News

27        The honor roll

28        From the archives


7            North suburban history Temperance, tolerance, and the shaping of the northshore

9 Carnegie's libraries -- A photo gallery of Illinois small-town treasures

12 The fall of the sparrows Rev. Francis Springer's boatload of orphans arrived in Springfield 140 years ago

20 Know your constitution ISHS membership to vote on amendments at Annual Meeting

Book Review

22 His Brother's Blood

To our readers

There is an indisputable momentum to spring, as tulips and daffodils surge through the topsoil on their inevitable journey to our flower vases. Likewise, momentum is building for the opening next month of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum. A legion of Lincoln worshipers arrives daily, and there is, indeed, a "great flourishing about in carriages" in the capital city, as Springfield prepares to receive the world.

In this issue of Illinois Heritage we take a look at the Springfield of 140 years ago, when another new institution, The Home for the Friendless, prepared to receive a world of misery, and citizens of Sangamon County were asked to ameliorate the lives of Civil War orphans from Arkansas. We also celebrate the history of Illinois Carnegie libraries, many of which have already or will soon commemorate their centennial years. And in preparation for our Annual Meeting in Evanston at the end of April, President David Scott presents a history of the Northshore communities of Evanston, Niles Station (Skokie), Rogers Park, and Wilmette. Share your Heritage. Share your Illinois State Historical Society.

William Furry editor

2 Illiniois Heritage

Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library