NEW IPO Logo - by Charles Larry Home Search Browse About IPO Staff Links

The Illinois State Historical Society Officers

President: Marvin W. Ehlers, Deerfield
Vice President: Mark Sorensen, Decatur
Treasurer: Arthur M. Martin, Chicago Secretary: Russell Lewis, Chicago

Directors: Terms Expire in 2007
Michael Batinski, Carbondale
John Craig, Springfield
Elaine Egdorf, Homewood
Shirley Portwood, Godfrey
Theodore Wachholz, Arlington Heights

Directors: Terms Expire in 2008
Alberta Adamson, Wheaton
Lawrence Hansen, River Forest
Patricia Walton, Hanover Park
John Weck, Sycamore
Randall Witter, Springfield

Directors: Terms Expire in 2009
Leah Axelrod, Highland Park
Herbert Channick, Highland Park
Redd Griffin, Oak Park
Dennis Williams, Quincy
Robyn Williams, Harrisburg

William Furry, Executive Director
Mary Lou Johnsrud, Office Manager

Advisory Board 2006-2007
Leah J. Axelrod, Highland Park
Roger Biles, Normal
David Brady, Springfield
Charles Burgess, Bethalto
Roger Bridges, Bloomington
Terri Cameron, Springfield
Don Cavallini, Lexington
Roland Cross, Springfield
Mary "Happy" Dean, Peoria
Larry Douglas, Belknap
James Edstrom, Buffalo Grove
Stuart Fliege, Springfield
Wolf Fuhrig, Jacksonville
Gerald Hulslander, Marseilles
D. Bradford Hunt, Chicago
David Joens, Springfield
Patricia Miller, Champaign
Ellsworth Mills II, Highland Park
Lisa Oppenheim Chicago
James Patton II, Leland Grove
John Pearson, Chicago
Charlotte Renehan, Grayslake
William Steinbacher-Kemp, Normal
Robert Swenson, Carbondale
Timothy Townsend, Springfield
Ron Vasile, Downers Grove
Gary Vitale, Springfield
Warren Winston, Pittsfield

Living Past Presidents

Alexander Summers, San Diego, CA
Gunnar Benson, Sterling
Victor Hicken, Macomb
Katie Fiene Birchler, Chester
Samuel Lilly, Downers Grove
David J. Maurer, Charleston
Wilma Lund, Springfield
Patricia Wallace-Christian, Durham, CT
Mark A. Plummer, Normal
John T Trutter, Northfield
E. Duane Libert, Forrest
Raymond E. Hauser, St. Charles
Patricia Grimmer, Carbondale
John Power, Jacksonville
Robert J. Klaus, Chicago
Michael J. McNerney, Carbondale
Robert McColley, Urbana
Barbara M. Posadas, DeKalb
Rand Burnette,Jacksonville
David W. Scott, Springfield

Illinois Heritage
A Publication of The Illinois State Historical Society

September-October 2006___________________Volume 9 Number 5


3       Letters

4       News

35       Making history for the future

38       Bits and pieces from the Society

39       Membership report


6       The 2006 Centennial Awards

6       Lifetime Achievement Award

7       Jack Brickhouse Award for Excellence in Broadcast Media

7       Artistic Achievement Award

8       Centennial Awards Banquet program

9       Centennial Awards credits

10       The class of 2006

11       The class of 2005

12       Centennial Award winners

29       Annual Awards Program guidelines

32       Centennial perspective
Pay some attention to the person behind the curtain!

34       Abraham Lincoln and the Corwin Amendment


36       Wright between the lines

To our readers:

The September/October issue of Illinois Heritage is devoted to the Centennial Awards winners past and present. These Illinois corporations and not-for-profit organizations have contributed immeasurably to the economic and cultural history of our state for more than a century, serving generations and communities from Chicago to Cairo, Galena to Golconda, and all points between. Since 1984 the Illinois State Historical Society has recognized more than 1,100 Illinois Centennial businesses, and we are proud to work with the many sponsors who help make this program possible.

If you are a previous Centennial Award winner and want to contribute to the program, please let us know. Your contribution can be as public or as private as you like. Sponsorships start at $50 (the Centennial Award application fee for a business in your community), and range upwards to $10,000. Any and all amounts make a difference. For more information on the Centennial Awards program, please call me at 217-525-2781, or visit the society online at Your history is worth celebrating.

William Furry
Executive Director

|Home| |Search| |Back to Periodicals Available| |Table of Contents| |Back to Illinois Heritage 2006|
Illinois Periodicals Online (IPO) is a digital imaging project at the Northern Illinois University Libraries funded by the Illinois State Library